A Bit Of Perspective

As a quick follow up to my last post (Hold On To Yourself) I wanted to let readers know I’m doing much better. I’m still not feeling %100, or the nearest approximation to it that I am able to achieve these days, but my midline is out and I am back home for rest and recuperation. I’m on the right track.

I have been genuinely moved by the concern expressed and support given by people who are close to me and also from people who I have never met in the flesh – what an age we live in! I can’t be more grateful to you.

I find myself able to reflect properly on everything and I am once again just so grateful to be here on this ‘pale blue dot’.

Very soon, however long we live, you and I will both be dead and gone. We will live on in the memories of others for a while but that will be a soberingly short afterlife. It’s good to get some perspective on that once in a while so that we can be active in getting the most from our lives. For me that means being aware of what I have and what I am capable of.

This is not one of those ‘made for TV’ moments. I’m not trying to inspire you or encourage you to achieve anything. Getting the most out of life means different things to different people. That’s what makes your life so awesome. You can do with your life what you like. You can ascribe meaning, or not, in whatever way you choose. It’s your life to live. We all have moments though that remind us of why it’s so great to be alive and we need those moments.

We are here for such a short time. What you do with that time is no concern of mine as long as you are doing no harm to anybody. What I do with the time I have left is frankly none of your business. All I’ll say is, to the seeker of meaning, it starts with being aware of what you have and knowing how bloody lucky you are. Right now I’m still here and that makes me as lucky as you are. Being alive is an amazing experience in and of itself. However much we try to analyse, interpret and understand it, it’s beyond words. That doesn’t stop us trying though to use each and every method of expression we can to explain it.  That we will never truly know all of the answers makes the experience all the greater.

Leave a Reply

